Why Are You Here: Beginnings

This is the second in a series of articles focused on finding your purpose in life. If you haven’t read the first yet, I encourage you to click on the link on the right side of the page titled “Why Are You Here”.

Now that everyone is on the same page, we’ll jump right in. The focus of the last article was to introduce the topic and to establish an awareness of the need for a purpose in your life. The focus of this article is to help you identify and accept your starting point.

What do you mean by identifying and accepting your starting point. I’m here right? That means I’m starting now, right?

Sure, that’s one way of viewing things, where exactly are you now? In my experience, this is an important question. Everyone is at a different point in their life’s journey, but one thing remains constant, we all have baggage. That’s right, you have baggage, and there is nothing wrong with that. If having baggage precluded you from a life of purpose and meaning then I daresay we’re all in trouble.

The thing about baggage is that it Emotional Baggagerepresents the past. In fact, one way of defining baggage is to say it is the sum of the changes in your thoughts, behaviors and actions as a result of your past experiences and memories. Think about that. Your baggage is almost invariably logical. In most cases, it is a reaction to pain or fear.

Fear?

Yeah, it doesn’t have to be anything that has actually happened to you. For example, ever since seeing the movie Jaws I have absolutely fascinated with and terrified of sharks. I’m so terrified of sharks that I can’t bring myself to go more than ankle deep in the ocean and even have a hard time in swimming pools sometimes because my imagination gets carried away. This is baggage. It keeps me from enjoying my life to the fullest.

We also have baggage in our lives based on the decisions that we’ve made. This is probably the more traditional version of the word. It encompasses things like ex’s, jobs, possessions, location, etc. These decisions may weigh on us uncomfortably over time and limit our available options when we think about how we want to spend our time and what we want to do with our lives.

All this talk about baggage is interesting, but what does it really have to do with finding your purpose in life?

With all of that baggage weighing us down it is very hard for us to get moving. After all, who are you to live a powerful, purpose-filled life? Who are you to accomplish great things with the time you have on this earth? Aren’t you the person who got laughed at in high-school? Aren’t you the person who hasn’t been able to hold down a job? Aren’t you the one who is a single parent who can barely make ends meet?

STOP!

Stop beating yourself up! Stop killing yourself with your STOP SIGNwords! God put you here for a reason. You exist for a reason. And even if you feel like you’ve screwed up, even if you have a ton of different things weighing you down you can make a change. It all starts when you make a choice to figure out the right direction and to start moving towards it. Soon you’ll build up your momentum and break through the barriers that are blocking your path.

Every person who has ever walked the earth has had baggage. Moses was afraid to speak publicly but he became God’s mouthpiece to a nation. Teddy Roosevelt was a sickly and weak child who went on to be the U.S. President most known for his courage and hardiness. Michael Jordan was cut from his high school basketball team as a sophomore and went on to become one of the most famous athletes on the planet.

Everyone you’ve mentioned is a historical superstar. I’m just a normal person, I can’t do those things.

It’s ok, you don’t have to be phenomenal. Your purpose may not be huge. Maybe you are meant to give comfort to people in nursing homes. Perhaps you’re meant to encourage those who do have larger than life destinies. Maybe you’re meant to be the person that helps your children’s friends work through problems that they won’t talk to their parent’s about. It isn’t about being “great”; it’s about finding your life’s purpose and working towards it. When you do that, the result is always great.

When you look back at those superstars you’ll notice something interesting. None of them got rid of all of their baggage. But they got rid of just enough to believe in their dream, to chase after their purpose and accomplish it. That’s the same thing you’ve got to do. You must identify the baggage that holds you back. Do you have a gift for helping people but you’re mad at the world? Are you a good leader who is leading people in the wrong direction? Would you take the time to reach out and help somebody in need if only you had the confidence that they wouldn’t reject you?

Before you can ever identify and chase after your purpose in life you need to identify the things that hold you back, the things that you use for excuses, the things that keep you from reaching out. You need to identify them, and actively work to move past them. Your baggage originated in the past, leave it there. Embrace who you are now and realize how great you can be if you work at it.

But I have children/ a huge mortgage/lost my job. I can’t just make that disappear.

You’re right, you can’t. It’s ok. Let’s say you have been blessed with children. If people with children aren’t able to find their purpose and chase after it then we’re all doomed. I don’t believe that for a second. Accept that you have children. Embrace it. Now, from that starting point, how will you move forward? You still have a choice. Maybe you did lose your job, unless you can get it back then it’s gone forever, accept it, learn from it and move past it. Start now, who are you and what will you do?

Life is a series of choices. Every day brings multiple choices and the choices that we make will ultimately determine where we end up and how happy we are. You can’t change the choices you’ve made in the past but you can learn from those choices and make better ones today and in the future.

Sometimes when things get too big for me I remind myself that I’m shaping my life one choice at a time. I don’t need to do everything at once. I just need to realize when I’m making a choice (i.e. work late or go home early, do something productive or play video game, etc) and then make the one that is best for me now and in the long run. In the end, the big picture will sort itself out in my favor as long as my good choices significantly outweigh my poor ones.

Ok, time to close up shop. I hope you guys found this helpful. The next article in the series will focus on your passions and dreams.

Be Blessed.

Jonathan

Additional Links:
Creating a Life on Purpose

Posted on November 29, 2010, in Personal Development and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. This is really good stuff! Sorry I’m late reading it. 🙂

  2. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this fantastic blog!
    I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS
    feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates
    and will talk about this site with my Facebook group.

    Talk soon!

  3. Good answer back in return of this difficulty with solid arguments and
    describing the whole thing on the topic of that.

  4. Hello there, just became alert to your blog
    through Google, and found that it is really informative.
    I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful
    if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing.

    Cheers!

  5. My brother suggested I would possibly like this website.
    He was once entirely right. This put up truly made my day.

    You can not consider just how a lot time I
    had spent for this information! Thanks!

  6. Bo Staff, Sword, Nunchakus, Sai, Tonfas, Kamas, and Escrima Stick are just some of
    the many weapons a student of the martial
    arts might use. The Dofus Cra can be a fun and exciting class which really deals out the damage, especially if you enjoy playing ranged.
    Unlike traditional bo forms, contemporary creative open forms with the bo involve more complex spins
    and even tosses.

  7. WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching
    for baby images

  8. You could certainly see your expertise in the work you write.
    The world hopes for more passionate writers like you
    who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  9. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my
    own blog and was curious what all is required to get setup?

    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?

    I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% positive. Any tips
    or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

  10. I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This post posted at this
    website is actually pleasant.

  11. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the web the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people consider
    worries that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the
    nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing
    without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will
    probably be back to gett more. Thanks

  12. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was totally right.
    This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how
    much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  13. Readout might be a more sensible choice than a plastic designer style.
    There are some kinds of this software that will cost the business
    more money than it will earn back. These scales have proven themselves
    to be accurate and easy to read and use, making them a convenient choice whenever you need to measure weight.

  14. Protein only contains 4 calories per gram compared to alcohol (7 calories) and fat (9
    calories). Nutritional supplements are taken to compensate diets
    that are deficient in essential nutrients and minerals.

    Read slowly and integrate your new knowledge so that you can use the information before you.

  15. It’s going to be ending of mine day, but before finish I am reading this impressive post to improve
    my know-how.

  16. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I am quite sure I will learn lots of
    new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  17. The system’s production of pertinent data and clear performance measurements
    enables operators to run their business efficiently and plan strategically.
    Think about the demographic of the user, the size of the space and of course the budget.

    You need to find a way to change the way you think about food, in order to avoid the bad habit of overeating.

  18. I won’t lie and say I didn’t have fun playing Lord of the Rings:
    War in the North. Not every person will agree that games cheat systems
    are the right things to be used while playing games.
    footage from locations including the Galapagos Islands, French Polynesia, Australia,
    and South Africa.

  19. Right from the inception of a human fetus to old people,
    Vitamins are one of the most important supporting elements
    in their growth. Of particular importance to athletes
    are Vitamin D, several B vitamins, Vitamin C and Vitamin E.

    Each vitamin has their own unique purpose to our bodies.

  20. Hello, the whole thing is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is sharing data, that’s actually fine, keep
    up writing.

  21. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept talking about this. I will
    send this information to him. Fairly certain he’s going to have a very
    good read. Thank you for sharing!

  22. Very good article! We will be linking to this particularly great
    post on our website. Keep up the great writing.

  23. Hello, i believe that i noticed you visited my web site thus i got here
    to return the want?.I am trying to to find issues to enhance my web site!I assume its adequate to make use of a few
    of your ideas!!

  24. As a matter of fact, there are sensors which are essentially used for overload alerts.
    Ralph realizes the hunters have let the fire go out. This also
    eliminates tasting foods for those who cook.

  25. They require constant wiping which may actually scratch painted vehicle surfaces.
    Determining how to brand your company and product or service is easier than you think if you gain help
    from your ad reps and follow some examples. Taking into account the entirely safe
    nature of green chemicals, some users may be asking how
    they can be as effective as the harsher but
    powerful chemicals on the market.

  26. fantastic points altogether, you just received a emblem new reader.
    What could you recommend in regards to your submit that you
    made a few days in the past? Any certain?

Leave a Reply

